Contents
- Introduction
- Manage Projects
- Add a New Task
- Manage Existing Tasks
- Task Actions
- Task Access Permissions
Introduction
Project and Task Management is the ChMeetings module that lets you create, assign, and track work within a ministry. It is available from the Tasks section in the main menu.
The main Tasks screen includes:
- All Tasks, where you can see all active tasks based on your view permission.
- My Tasks, where you can see the tasks that are assigned to you.
You can search, filter by project, status, priority, due date, and assignee. You can select multiple statuses and priorities when filtering.
All tasks, projects, assignees, counts, and notifications are limited to the current ministry.
Manage Projects
Tasks can be grouped into projects, but this is optional. Tasks without a project are listed under No Project.
Users with Manage Projects permission can create, edit, activate, deactivate, and delete projects.
To add a project:
- Go to Tasks in the main menu.
-
Click Manage Projects. If you are adding your first project, this will be a button in the top left of your tasks screen. If not, then the option is at the bottom of the Projects dropdown list.
-
Enter your Project Name and click Save.
-
Once your project is saved, it can be Activated/Deactivated, Edited, or Deleted. You can see all of these features, in the exact order, in the screenshot below.
Caution: Deleting a project also deletes all tasks inside it. None can be restored. |
All your projects are available under the Projects dropdown. Once you have a first project saved, the Manage Projects option moves at the bottom of this list.
You can filter your list by project as needed. When you add a task while your list is filtered by a specific project, then your Project assignment within the task will default to the selected Project. You do not need to filter your list beforehand; you can freely select the Project while adding the Task.
Add a New Task
To add a new Task, click Add Task, at the top of your screen.
In the Add Task window, enter the following details:
- Task Name: Give your task a short yet suggestive name that says exactly what needs to be done.
- Description: Add additional information about the task if necessary.
- Project: Assign the Task to a Project. You can leave this blank if you like, and the task will be listed under “No Project”.
- Due Date: Set the date by which the task should be completed.
- Priority: Set the task priority as Low, Medium, or High.
- Status: Set the task status as Open or Done.
- Assigned To: Search for an assignee and select them from the search results. You can assign a task to multiple people. Newly added assignees receive a New Task Assigned notification with a direct link to the task. Existing assignees are not notified again when the task is saved, and users are not notified when assigning themselves. You can assign a task to anyone no matter their access level, including to someone who is a Member. They will be able to access their tasks within the Member Portal, from the main menu.
- Checklist: You can add specific checklist items to be marked as completed in order for the task to be considered as Done. This is optional. To add an item, just type in your item text, then press Enter/Command/OK.
- Notes: You can enter any required notes in this field. Add your text, then click 🕀 to save your note. You will see it listed below, with options to Edit or Delete. Keep in mind that deleted notes cannot be restored. You can save multiple notes within the same task.
- Click Save when done.
Once your task is saved, it is listed on your main Task Screen. You will find it under All Project, or under the Project it is assigned to. If no project is assigned, then your task will be under No Project. After saving, task assignees also receive a notification for the assignment.
Manage Existing Tasks
Your main task screen will include existing tasks, which you can view, edit, or delete. You can also track task progress here.
View Tasks and Edit Checkboxes
Clicking the name of a task lets you view it. In the view mode, you can also check the associated checkboxes and this will be saved without having to edit the task itself.
Edit Tasks
In the context menu of each task, you will find the option to Edit the task. All task details may be edited. Assignees are not notified upon editing a task.
Delete Tasks
Here is where you can also Delete that task. Keep in mind that deleted tasks cannot be restored.
Track Task Progress
Statuses
There are three available statuses that track a task’s progress:
- Open: Work has not been started for the task. Move tasks to In Progress when starting work.
- In Progress: Work has been started for the task and is in progress. Mark tasks as Done when work is completed.
- Done: Work is done for the task. If completed work requires revision or the task needs to be worked on again for any reason, reopen the task by marking it again as Open.
Set Status
There are three ways to set the status of a task:
-
From the task’s context menu, where you can quickly select a desired status:
-
From the Task list icon, as follows:
Start - Move to In Progress displays when the task status is Open.
Mark as Done displays when a task is in progress .
-
Reopen Task displays when a task is marked as Done.
These icons display next to your task, within the tasklist, regardless of whether you filter by project or not.
-
By Editing the Task and selecting the desired status within the Status dropdown.
Task Actions
You can perform the following actions via your main Tasks screen, within the Bulk Actions menu. Just select at least one task using the checkboxes in order to access these options.
-
Export your list of tasks to Excel. This option is also accessible directly on the main screen, at the top of your tasklist.
- Text people, send email, or mobile push notifications to task assignees.
- Delete selected tasks. Keep in mind that deleted tasks cannot be restored.
Task Access Permissions
The Tasks section introduces seven permissions:
- View Assigned To Others: Users can view all tasks in the ministry.
- View Assigned By Me: Users can view tasks created by the user and tasks assigned to them.
- View Assigned To Me: Users can only view tasks assigned to them.
- Add: Allows users to create tasks.
- Edit: Lets users update tasks and mark them Done or Open.
- Delete: Lets users delete tasks.
- Manage Projects: Allows users to create, edit, activate, deactivate, and delete projects.
When a user has more than one viewing permission, the broadest permission applies. Admin, Owner, and default Group Leader roles receive all Tasks permissions by default. Other roles receive none unless granted manually.
You will find all task-related permissions under Users & Roles > Roles & Permissions.
Members can be assigned tasks and view and edit their own tasks as well, via the Member Portal’s main menu.
The Member Role includes the My Tasks permissions section, where owners and admins can enable them to view and/or edit their own tasks.