Contents
Introduction
Roles are a way to group your users by the role they fulfill within your organization.
Roles work across ministries, so you can assign each user a particular role within a specific ministry. This lets you manage access granularly, within each ministry and for each user and role.
Keep in mind that User access management within ChMeetings works based on the following structure:
- Add/Invite Users from Users & Roles > Users.
- Create Roles & Manage Permissions per Role from Users & Roles > Roles & Permissions.
- Assign Roles (along with permissions) per Ministry from Users & Roles > Users.
Default Roles
The default roles which are predefined within the app are as follows:
- Owners have full access,
- Admins have broad management access,
- Group Leaders have access limited to groups,
- Treasurers have access across Contributions and Accounting.
- Members can only see the Portal if you enable it.
Roles Hierarchy
The default user roles hierarchy within ChMeetings are:
Owner: The main ChMeetings account owner(s).
Admin: People who manage the church account or a ministry.
Account-Level Users for whom the Role Type is set to Account.
Group Leaders: People who lead groups of members or their Role Type is set to Group Leader..
Members: Your general congregation, who can have access to their own ChMeetings accounts if you enable the Member Portal.
These roles can all be edited and adjusted to your needs. You can also add new, custom roles to this default list of options.
Add a Role
To add a new user role:
Go to Users & Roles > Roles & Permissions.
Click on Add Role.
You can now add a name, role type, and permissions for your custom user role.
Copy Roles
This feature is useful if you need to create a custom role that inherits most of the permissions of an existing role. This way, the process is faster because you only need to make a few changes.
All roles can be copied, except for the Owner. Top copy a role, click the options button next to it, then select Copy Role.
This will open in the editing window, where you can adjust and save the new role. Please note that some permissions may not be editable, depending on the Role Type. The Role Type itself is also uneditable when copying an existing role - it will be automatically set to the type of role you are copying.
Copy the Admin Role and Grant Access to Ministries
When you copy the Admin role, the new role inherits all permissions associated with the role being copied. You can disable any permission as you see fit. Additionally, roles created as copies of the Admin role let you decide whether the new role has access to all ministries, including child/subsidiary ministries.
If you turn on Allow access to all child ministries, users will gain access to all subsidiary ministries that fall under their assigned ones. If you keep this option turned off, users will only have access to the primary ministries they are assigned to.
Delete Roles
It is only possible to delete custom roles. Default roles, meaning Owner, Admin, and Member, cannot be deleted. In addition, there has to be no user assigned to the role in question.
To delete a custom role, please click the options button next to it, then click Delete. If the option is not visible, this means that you are trying to remove a default role.
Please confirm your choice by clicking again on Delete. Click Cancel if you no longer want to remove the role.
If a role has users assigned to it, you will not be allowed to delete it. Please assign the users to a different role before deleting. Please see Editing the role of a specific user above in this article.