Contents
- Advanced Search
- Bulk Updates
- Merge Duplicate Profiles
- Convert A Member to a Contribution Contact
- Assign & Remove User Roles in Bulk
- Archive and Delete People
- Remove People from Churches or Ministries
In this guide, we will explore how you can manage people records, including bulk updates, merging duplicat people, archiving or deletion of profiles, etc,
Advanced Search
You can search your People database using a variety of advanced search filters which can be selected manually or using an AI-powered tool. Please check our dedicated guide to learn about these tools in more detail.
Bulk Updates
You can update specific profile fields in bulk, by following the steps below:
- Go to People and select the people you want to update - using the checkbox next to their name and profile picture.
- Click More Actions.
- Click Bulk Update.
- In the window that comes up, select the field(s) that you would like to update. If you would like to remove a specific field, click
. The fields you can update in bulk are:
- Address,
- Baptism Date,
- Baptism Location,
- Do not email,
- Do not text,
- Education Level,
- Employer,
- Gender,
- Grade,
- Hide from the Member Directory,
- Job Title,
- Join Date,
- Marital Status,
- School,
- Zip Code.
Custom fields will be displayed within the Bulk Update fields list as well. Below is a brief demonstration of how to update people in bulk.
Merge Duplicate Profiles
You can use the Merge People feature to merge multiple duplicate profiles into one.
Go to People > More Actions > Merge People to find this feature.
Alternatively, go to Settings > Tools > Merge People.
Convert A Member to a Contribution Contact
If someone stops being a member, but continues to contribute, you can convert their profile to a Contact. Just note that a contact profile contains less information, but if you want to convert it back to a full profile, the data that was found in the member profile and not transferred to the contact will be restored as well.
To convert a Member to a Contact, follow these steps:
- Go to People.
- Select the person(s) you want to convert by checking the checkbox next to their profile picture.
- Click More Actions.
- Click Convert to Contacts.
- Check Contributions > Contacts and you will find the person listed there rather than in your People list.
Assign & Remove User Roles in Bulk
You can assign roles to people in bulk by going to More Actions > Assign Role. If anyone is not registered to the Portal yet, they will also receive an automatic invite so they can create an account and participate in the role you assign.
The following rules apply to assigning roles in bulk:
- If a person does not have a sign-in account, one is created and an email invitation is sent.
- An email address is required to create a sign-in account.
- An existing Account Level role is never replaced automatically. People with a conflicting role are skipped.
- A Group Leader role can exist alongside one Account Level role.
- For existing Group Leaders, selected groups are added to their current groups. Existing groups are not removed.
You will need to select the Ministry and Role. If you are assigning a Group Leader role, then you will also need to select the group(s).
Note that assigment may fail if a selected profile does not contain an email address.
Use Remove Role if you need to remove specific people from a user role.
You will need to select the Ministry and Role which you want to remove.
Both the assignment and removal or roles come with a review process. Once you select the Ministry, Role, and Group if needed, then click Continue, you will be prompted to review the following:
- New sign-in and role
- Role added
- Groups updated
- Role removed
- Downgraded to Member Portal
- Not changed
No changes are made until you review and confirm the assignment or removal. After processing, you will see the actual numbers of people updated or skipped.
Archive and Delete People
Archived people are kept forever in ChMeetings and will count towards your plan, regardless of whether you keep them archived or you restore them.
Deleted people are kept for 30 days within ChMeetings. During this time, they will not count towards your plan and you can restore them back to your People list, along with their related information. Once people are restored, they will count towards your plan again.
Tip: If you need to quickly switch from the People section to the People Archive, click More Actions > Jump To > Archived People.
For details on how to archive, delete and restore people, please see the dedicated guide.
Remove People from Churches or Ministries
If you need to remove someone from a church (if you’re on a Diocese account) or from a ministry (if you’re on a Church account), you can do so from the person’s profile.
- Open the profile for the person whom you want to remove.
- At the bottom of the profile, click Remove from Church / Remove from Ministry.