Contents
- Introduction
- Add a family photo
- Add an existing person as a family member
- Add a new person as a family member
- Remove family members
- Add someone to a new family
- Manage addresses for members of the same family
- Archive families
- Remove families from churches or ministries
Introduction
While editing someone’s profile, you can create or link the profiles of their family members as well. You can do so from within the Family Members section, accessible while editing a profile in the People section. Family Members can be added while creating a profile, or later, by editing it.
You can either add an existing person (someone who already has a ChMeetings profile), or a new person.
Add a family photo
You can add a family photo which will replace individual photos for everyone in the family when displayed in the Family View of the Printed Member Directory or Online Member Directory. Click Update and upload an image file to add a Family Photo.
Note that any family member can update the family photo.
Add an existing person as a family member
To link an existing person as someone else’s family member, please follow the steps below:
- Go to People,
- Edit the profile to which you would like to add family members.
- Scroll to the Add Family Members section.
- Click Existing Person.
Next, select the person you would like to link to the profile you’re currently editing. Click Add Person when you’re ready.
Once the person has been added, their role will default to Other. Please choose the appropriate one. Available roles include Primary, Spouse, Child, Sibling, Parent, Grandparent, and Other.
Please click Save when you’re ready.
Once added, the Family Members section will link you to the profiles of everyone within that family, regardless of which of their profiles you are viewing.
Add a new person as a family member
You can add a new person to ChMeetings and at the same time link them as someone else’s family member.
To do so, scroll to the Family Members section of the primary profile and click New Person.
You will be taken to a new profile window, where you can add the new person as shown above, within Adding a new person.
Once you save the new person, you will have the option to set the person’s role within the family.
All family members’ profiles will link to the profiles of everyone else.
Remove family members
You can remove a family member by clicking the Delete (⊖) icon next to their name.
Add someone to a new family
To add someone to a new family, you must remove them from the one they are included in, then add them to the corresponding new family. Here are the steps to follow:
- Access the profile of any member of the current family.
- Go to the Family Members section and remove the person whom you want to move to a new family.
Manage addresses for members of the same family
When you connect people in ChMeetings as family members, some of them may share a common address, but others might not; even if you manage their records as part of the same family. So, you can use “Apply The Same Address To All Family Members” to manage these situations.
The “Apply The Same Address To All Family Members” checkbox will automatically apply the same address to all family members on whose profile this field is checked. If there is anyone connected to the same family, but has a different address, please uncheck this field for them and add their own address to the profile.
Any changes you make to the address set to any member of the same family who has thie field checked will be applied to all other members who have the field checked. The change will not apply to family members who have this option unchecked. You must manage their addresses separately.
Archive families
You can archive families by going to the profile of one of its members and selecting Archive > Archive Person & Family.
Archived people will be removed from all reports. You won't be able to record attendance or contributions for them, or print their information while archived.
Family members who have a user account will not be archived. You must delete the user before being able to archive the person. See Managing users, roles and permissions to learn more.
You can restore individual family members from Reports > General Reports > Archived People Report. At the moment you cannot restore all members together, similarly to the archiving process.
Remove families from churches or ministries
If you need to remove a family from a church (if you’re on a Diocese account) or from a ministry (if you’re on a Church account), you can do so from the profile of one of the members of that family.. Here are the steps you can take:
- Go to the People section.
- Open the profile for a member of the family you want to remove.
- At the bottom of the profile, click the arrow next to the Remove from Church / Remove from Ministry button, then click Remove Family from Church / Ministry. Note that if a person is not part of a family, then the family-specific option will not display.