Contents
- About Group Chat
- Send Messages
- Edit Messages
- React to Messages
- Forward Messages
- Copy Messages
- Reply to Messages (Quote)
- Open or Copy Links
- Mention Someone
- Attach Files to Messages
- Delete Messages
- Adjust the Text Size
- Conversation Settings
About Group Chat
If this feature is enabled for your community, you will be able to communicate with other members, or with staff, via group chat. Everyone participating in a conversation must be part of the same group, and there is one conversation per group.
To access this feature, go to the main menu and select Group Chat.
The main group chat screen shows all active conversations that you are part of. If you are a Group Leader, you will also be able to initiate new conversations for your group. Please see our dedicated Group Chat guide for leaders to learn more.
In this guide, we will be focusing on participation features available to members.
To start participating in a group chat, click the corresponding tile on your Group Chat screen.
This takes you to the chat conversation, where you can read previous messages, download files, and send your own messages.
Below are the features you can use within a group chat.
Send Messages
When sending messages, the group chat area behaves very similarly to other messaging apps you may be familiar with, for example, WhatsApp.
To enter your message text, type it within the text box at the bottom right of your screen. In the mobile app, the text box is at the bottom of your screen, right above the app menu. You can use the formatting buttons to make your text bold, italic, strikethrough, or to format it as code.
To send your message, press enter, or tap the Send button next to the text box. Once sent, your message will display within the conversation.
When your message is sent, everyone in the conversation receives a notification, unless they have muted the conversation.
Edit Messages
You can edit your own messages, within 15 minutes of sending.
To edit a message, hover over it to reveal the Edit (🖉) icon. Click it, edit your text, then Save.
On the mobile app, tap and hold the message you want to edit, and then tap the Edit (🖉) icon, edit your text, and Save.
Share a Message
You can use the Share option to send a specific message to an external app.
If you are using a computer, you can access these reactions by hovering over a message with your mouse, clicking the smile icon, and then selecting your reaction.
On the mobile app, tap and hold the message you want to react to, and then tap your reaction. Click the “+” for more emoji options.
React to Messages
Conversation participants can react to each other’s messages with a variety of emojis.
If you are using a computer, you can access these reactions by hovering over a message with your mouse, clicking the smile icon, and then selecting your reaction.
On the mobile app, tap and hold the message you want to react to, and then tap your reaction. Click the “+” for more emoji options.
Once you react to a message, the sender will receive a push notification about your reaction.
Forward Messages
Participants can forward a message to another chat conversation. Just click/tap the Forward button next to the respective message, then choose the conversation to forward to.
On mobile devices, tap and hold the message to get the option.
Copy Messages
Chat participants can copy messages to their device clipboard and paste anywhere. Just click/tap the Copy button next to the respective message.
On mobile devices, tap and hold the message to get the option.
Reply to Messages (Quote)
To reply to a message, first, hover over it.
On the mobile app, tap the message you want to reply to,
Next, click or tap the Reply () icon,
Enter your text, and send the message as usual.
Open or Copy Links
On mobile devices exclusively, you can tap a link received in a message, then choose to either open it directly or copy it to your clipboard.
Mention Someone
Use the “@” sign to mention someone. As soon as you type in the “@” sign and start typing the person’s name, you will be able to select them from a list of search results. You can only mention people who are part of the group to which the chat is associated.
Mention Everyone
You can use the “@all” tag to mention everyone in the conversation. This sends a mobile push notification to all conversation participants.
Attach Files to Messages
Using the Attachment option, you can easily attach different files to your messages: audio, video, doc, docx, xls, xlsx, pdf, and pptx. You can see previews for Images and presentations, play audio video and download other files. Here is a quick demo of the feature:
Delete Messages
As a member, you can only delete your own messages, within 60h of sending.
To delete a message, while using your computer, hover over it and click the bin icon displayed next to it. You must confirm your choice and cannot restore messages after deletion.
To delete a message on the mobile app, tap the message to see the Delete option.
Once the message is deleted, everyone in the conversation will be able to see a notification that the message was deleted. This remains saved within the conversation.
Adjust the Text Size
You can control the chat font size to suit your preference or accessibility needs.
Find the Font Size () icon at the top of your conversations, next to the Settings (⚙) icon. You can choose between Small, Normal (Default), Large, and Extra Large. The size you choose remains saved until you decide to change it.
Conversation Settings
As a member, you can access Conversation Settings by clicking the Gear icon at the top right of your conversation (on both the web and mobile app).
Here is where you can Mute or Unmute the conversation: When muting a conversation, you will stop receiving notifications when new messages are received within it.