Contents
- Introduction
- Edit a User
- Delete a User
- Edit the Role of a User
- Assign Multiple Roles
- Edit the Permissions of a Specific User
- Export Existing Users
- Reset Two-Factor Authentication for a User
- Communicate to Users
Introduction
Existing users are those already found within ChMeetings > Users & Roles > Users list, after having been added manually or invited. Learn more about adding/inviting users.
Keep in mind that User access management within ChMeetings works based on the following structure:
Add/Invite Users from Users & Roles > Users.
Create Roles & Manage Permissions per Role from Users & Roles > Roles & Permissions.
Assign Roles (along with permissions) per Ministry from Users & Roles > Users.
Edit a User
To edit a user:
Go to Users & Roles > Users.
Find the user in the list.
Click the options button next to the user, then select Edit.
You can now edit the user’s email and username.
You can also configure the user’s password yourself, or tick Generate Password to allow the system to generate it for you. In this case, you will not be able to see it.
If you create the password yourself, you can choose not to send the account information to the user. If you generate the password, the option will be automatically enabled and will be uneditable. When this option is enabled, the user will be emailed with the information they require in order to log into their account.
Click Save when you are done editing.
Delete a User
To delete a user, click the options button next to their record, then select Delete.
Please confirm your choice by clicking again on Delete. Click Cancel if you no longer want to delete.
Edit the Role of a User
To edit an existing user’s role, click the options button next to their record, then select Roles. You can use the filters at the top of the list if you like to filter by ministry or role, or to search by name.
You will now be shown the current role fulfilled by the user. You can edit it using the Edit (pencil) icon.
You can now select which role you would like to assign to this person. The list of roles will display all roles available under your church account, whether default or custom. Click Save when you are ready.
If you want to assign someone as a Group Leader, please also select the group(s) they are leading. You can assign any user as a Group Leader, including the Account Owner.
Assign Multiple Roles
Role Type Considerations
You cannot assign two roles of the same type (Account-Level roles - meaning Owner or Admin) to the same person within the same ministry. This is by design, as it would create a conflict in permissions and role hierarchy.
You are able to assign a Group Leader role alongside an Account-Level role. This is allowed only because Group Leader is a different role type (not an Account-Level role) and does not create such a conflict.
However, keep in mind that when a Group Leader role is assigned in addition to an Account-Level role, the Account-Level role will take precedence, and the Group Leader role will be considered honorary. Therefore, for example, if the Account-Level role has permission to view a specific module (e.g. Accounting), but the Group Leader role does not, the user who was assigned both roles will have access to the module because the Account-Level role grants it.
The Role Type can be found and configured by going to Users & Roles > Roles & Permissions > Add / Edit Role.
When a user is already assigned an Account-Level role, then no role of this type will be available to assign to the same user. The list will only contain Group Leader roles. In the example below, the user is already a Treasurer, which is an Account-Level role, so they can only be assigned as a Group Leader or Sunday School Class Leader.
Workaround for Access to Two Account Level Role Permissions
You can work around this scenario by creating a custom role for specific users to whom you grant access to two Account-Level roles.
- Go to Users & Roles > Roles & Permissions > Add Role.
- Create a new custom role, and include all the necessary permissions you want this person to have, combined into this one role. See Manage user roles for details.
- Then, go to Users & Roles > Users, edit the relevant user, and assign this new custom role instead of their current one.
How To Assign Multiple Roles to the Same User
You can assign multiple roles to someone by clicking the Add Role option within their Roles editing window.
You will then be able to add a ministry and the role that you’d like to assign to the person within it. You can assign multiple roles within the same ministry (for example, Admin and Group Leader). Save the new role when ready.
All roles assigned to a user will be displayed as shown below.
Edit the Permissions of a Specific User
Permissions can be edited at the User Role level, not for individual users.
To edit the permissions granted to a user role, please see the Manage User Permissions guide.
Export Existing Users
You can export it by clicking the Export button at the top right of the Users module. This will automatically download a spreadsheet that includes essential user information: Name, Mobile Phone, Email, Ministry Name, Role, Status, Last Access Date and Username.
Reset Two-Factor Authentication for a User
If you are the account owner, or an administrator, then you can reset 2-factor authentication for other users.
To reset 2FA for a user, within Users & Roles > Users, find the user in question, and select Reset 2FA in their corresponding context menu.
You will be asked to confirm your choice.
On their next login, the user must set up 2FA all over again.
Communicate to Users
If you would like to communicate to a user, you can do so by clicking the options button next to their record, and then by selecting Text People, Email People or Send Notification. Notifications can only be sent to people who have installed the mobile app and are logged into it.