Contents
Introduction
Before you allow people in your congregation to become members of your ChMeetings app, we recommend that you check the Member role permissions and adjust them to your needs and requirements.
To get started, please go to Member Portal and click the link to update the Member Role Settings.
Alternatively, go to Users & Roles - Roles & Permissions. Here is where you will find the Member role, which you can edit by clicking the options button next to the role.
Any of these paths will take you to the role editing window, where you can simply tick a box on or off to adjust the following permissions:
Member Directory Settings
Under the Member Permissions area, you can configure the Online Member Directory Settings.
Enable Member Directory lets you choose whether the Directory is active or not.
Set the Visibility for the Online Member Directory. If you choose to allow visibility within the same account, then all members will be visible to each other by default. IF you choose to allow visibility within the same group, then only members who are part of the same group will see each other. Please note that the group’s visibility will need to be set to `Members` for the feature to enable correctly. More details below.
Set the Calendar Visibility. This lets you choose whether to Show birthdays and/or anniversaries in the calendar.
Select the Visible Fields that will be accessible within the Members’ Profiles, when they are visible in the Member Directory. Fields that you don’t select will not be displayed.
Volunteering
Additionally, you can choose whether members can see who else is volunteering with them in the same event. Here is a list of available permissions and how each of them works:
| Permission | What the volunteer can see |
|---|---|
| See volunteers in my role | Others in the same role on the same date |
| See volunteers on my team | Others in any role on the same team and date |
| See all volunteers on the same event date | Everyone serving at the event on that date |
| See all volunteers across all event dates | Everyone serving at the event, on all dates. |
How “See Volunteers On My Team” Works
- The volunteer sees the other roles on their team for each date they serve. The other teams remain hidden.
- If the volunteer’s role is not part of a team, they see only the volunteers in their own role.
- If the volunteer serves on more than one team, they see the members of each of those teams.
Permissions that Turn On Together
Each permission includes the narrower ones, as follows:
- Ticking See volunteers on my team also ticks See volunteers in my role.
- Ticking See all volunteers on the same event date also ticks See volunteers on my team and See volunteers in my role.
- Ticking See all volunteers across all event dates also ticks See volunteers in my role.
- Unticking See volunteers in my role clears all the other permissions, except for View assigned worship plans
- Unticking See volunteers on my team clears See all volunteers on the same event date.
What the Volunteer Sees
In the member app, open Volunteering and click Expand others on an upcoming assignment. With the team permission, the volunteer sees the other roles on their team for that date.
Click Volunteers under a role to see the names.
Profile
Here is what the Profile permissions provide access to if enabled:
Edit: Members can edit their own ChMeetings profile.
My Giving: Members have access to their giving history. Note that if this permission is enabled, spouses have access to each other’s giving and pledges; and parents have access to their children’s giving and places. However, children do not have access to their parents’ giving; only to their own, regardless of age.
My Pledges: Members have access to their pledges.
My Organizations: Members can view and edit the organizations they give on behalf of.
My Attendance: Members have access to their attendance to events.
My Registrations: Members can access their event registration history.
Calendar: Members can access the Calendar.
Profile Fields
This section determines what fields your members can fill out if they edit their profiles.
For each field, you can decide whether members can view or edit it. You can also make that field mandatory, and it will be required to either register for an account (if you use profile fields for registration) or to save edits to their profile. Some field options are inactive and locked with the permission to both view and edit. This is because the field is essential to the integrity of your member accounts and should not be changed. This applies to the profile photo, the mobile number and email fields.
If you have enabled profile fields for registration, then you will see an extra column here, called Register. If you check the box in this column, then the field in question will be added to the registration form. If you also check it as mandatory, then registration will not proceed without filling out that field.
Once you have configured member permissions as desired, please click on Save, to ensure your updates are saved.